Chemical proteomics platform Jnana Therapeutics completes US$50 million in Series B financing

Create_time:2021-08-23 Views:326

Recently, in Boston, Jnana Therapeutics, a biotechnology company, used its next-generation chemical proteomics platform to target SLC transporters and other fully validated but difficult-to-drug targets, and announced the completion of a US$50 million Series B financing. The financing was led by RA Capital Management and included all existing investors, including Polaris Partners, Versant Ventures, Avalon Ventures, AbbVie Ventures and Pfizer Ventures.




The proceeds of this financing will enable Jnana to advance its lead project for the treatment of phenylketonuria (PKU) to clinical development, while advancing a series of other projects, and continue to invest in its innovative and proven RAPID platform to discover small Molecular therapies are difficult targets for medicines.




"This commitment and support from a strong investor consortium will enable Jnana to enter the next stage of development as we advance our extensive wholly-owned project pipeline to the clinic and continue to expand the application of our platform," Co-founder of Jnana Therapeutics , Said Dr. Joanne Kotz, CEO and President. "We believe that Jnana's leading project provides a differentiated treatment for PKU, using the oral small molecules identified by our RAPID platform, which can be used to treat any PKU patient, regardless of age or PAH mutation."




Jnana's main project aims to provide a new oral method to solve PKU by inhibiting the SLC transporter SLC6A19, which is responsible for the reabsorption of phenylalanine (Phe) in the kidneys, thereby reducing the increase in blood Phe levels that lead to the pathology of PKU disease. Based on data from human biology and in vivo experiments in animal models, inhibition of SLC6A19 provides a promising method that can provide profound therapeutic benefits for PKU patients.




"Jnana pioneered the discovery of small molecule drugs targeting refractory drug targets, including SLC transporters-a class of targets that are highly challenging for drugs but have significant therapeutic potential," said Dr. Matthew Hammond. The head of RA Capital, now a member of Jnana's board of directors. "We are excited about the progress the Jnana team has made in pipeline construction, including their compelling Peking University leadership plan and the company's powerful small molecule discovery platform's ability to drive continuous pipeline growth."

化学蛋白质组学平台Jnana Therapeutics 完成5000 万美元 B 轮融资

发布日期:2021-08-23 浏览次数:711

近日,波士顿,生物技术公司Jnana Therapeutics 利用其下一代化学蛋白质组学平台瞄准SLC 转运蛋白和其他经过充分验证但难以成药的靶标,宣布完成5000 万美元的 B 轮融资。此次融资由 RA Capital Management 领投,包括所有现有投资者,包括 Polaris Partners、Versant Ventures、Avalon Ventures、AbbVie Ventures 和 Pfizer Ventures。




这笔融资的收益将使 Jnana 能够将其治疗苯丙酮尿症 (PKU) 的主导项目推进到临床开发,同时推进一系列其他项目,并继续投资于其创新和经过验证的 RAPID 平台,以发现小分子疗法难以成药的靶点。




“这一来自强大投资者财团的承诺和支持将使 Jnana 进入下一阶段的发展,因为我们将广泛的全资项目管道推进到临床,并继续扩大我们平台的应用,”Jnana Therapeutics 的联合创始人、首席执行官兼总裁Joanne Kotz 博士说。“我们相信,Jnana 的主导项目为 PKU 提供了一种差异化的治疗方法,使用我们的 RAPID 平台识别的口服小分子,可用于治疗任何 PKU 患者,无论年龄或 PAH 突变如何。”




Jnana 的主要项目旨在通过抑制负责肾脏重吸收苯丙氨酸 (Phe) 的 SLC 转运蛋白 SLC6A19,提供一种新的口服方法来解决 PKU,从而降低导致 PKU 疾病病理的血液 Phe 水平升高。根据来自人类生物学和动物模型体内实验的数据,抑制 SLC6A19 提供了一种有前途的方法,可以为 PKU 患者提供深刻的治疗益处。




“Jnana 开创性地发现了针对难治药物靶点的小分子药物,包括 SLC 转运蛋白——一种对药物具有高度挑战性的靶标类别,但具有显着的治疗潜力,” Matthew Hammond 博士说, RA Capital 的负责人,现在是 Jnana 的董事会成员。 “我们对 Jnana 团队在管道建设方面取得的进展感到兴奋,包括他们引人注目的北大领导计划,以及公司强大的小分子发现平台推动管道持续增长的能力。”