Vividion Therapeutics: Small molecule drug company targeting transcription factors applies for IPO

Create_time:2021-06-28 Views:602

Vividion Therapeutics submitted a preliminary prospectus of US$100 million, and the institutions holding >5% of the shares before the IPO are as follows:


In the $135 million round C financing completed in February, Logos Capital and Boxer Capital jointly led the investment. Other investors include SoftBank, Avoro Capital, BlackRock, RA Capital, T. Rowe Price Associates, and Surveyor Capital (a Citadel company) , Woodline Partners LP, Acuta Capital and Driehaus Capital. Existing investors ARCH Venture, BVF, Casdin Capital, Mubadala Capital, Nextech Invest and Versant Ventures also participated in this round of financing.


Company technology platform and pipeline

Vividion Therapeutics is a biopharmaceutical company focused on precision therapy, focusing on the development of targets that were previously considered non-medicinal. Its proprietary chemical proteomics (chemoproteomic) platform technology discovers undiscovered functional pockets on the surface of proteins and binds them with small molecules in the proprietary library. So far, the company has screened more than 75,000 cysteine residues on about 12,500 proteins, clarified more than 800 new binding pockets for 250 validated targets, and developed a number of covalently binding small molecules with 80 targets. More than 100 unique binding pockets are combined.




At present, the research pipeline mainly targets two key transcription factors, NRF2 and STAT3, and the DNA oxidative damage repair gene WRN. The structure of transcription factors is complex and disordered and lacks small molecule binding pockets. Traditionally, it is believed that targeting transcription factors through small molecule ligands is not druggable. Vividion's STAT3 project was developed in cooperation with BMS (Bristol-Myers Squibb), and WRN was developed in cooperation with Roche. At present, all pipelines are still in pre-clinical research, and it is expected to nominate the first drug candidate and submit an IND to the FDA in 2022.


1. Chemical proteomics (chemoproteomic) platform technology

The platform is based on the research of the company's co-founders Benjamin F. Cravatt, Phillip Baran and Jin-Quan Yu at Scripps Research Institute. Dr. Cravatt's laboratory uses spectrometry-based proteome profiling to monitor the binding of cysteine-reactive small molecules to specific sites on thousands of proteins. The chemical methods developed by Drs. Baran and Dr. Yu enabled them to explore three-dimensional chemistry and protein space, and constructed chemical scaffolds and cysteine group libraries.


Chemoproteomic screening technology uses high-resolution mass spectrometry and chemical probes to detect the interaction between small molecules and proteins (regardless of the functional level). After finding the specific cysteine binding sites in the protein, use the small molecules in the library to test Combine effectiveness. The following figure is the output of the test, the row (Target) is the cysteine binding site on the target protein, which is listed as the compound:



With the expansion of the library of small molecules, the discovery of druggable pockets of disease-related proteins has also increased:



This test method allows the company to discover a variety of different types of compounds, including allosteric activators/inhibitors, protein stabilizers, PPI (protein-protein interaction) inhibitors, and protein degradation agents.


2. Pipeline




1、KEAP-NRF2

The company develops compounds that can inhibit or activate NFR2 to treat different diseases. In tumors, abnormal activation of NRF2 acquired by mutation or treatment can be a key adaptation of cancer cells to achieve a highly malignant and therapeutic resistance state.


Almost all mutations in NRF2 exist in two regions, called "DLG" and "ETGE" sequence subunits. Mutations in these regions hinder the recognition of NRF2 by KEAP1, prevent the proteasome degradation of NRF2, and increase the level of NRF2. The NRF2 inhibitors developed by the company focus on squamous cancers with NRF2 "DLG" mutations, and are indicated for NRF2 mutation tumors, such as NSCLC, ESCC and HNSCC. The company estimates that more than 10,000 people in the United States are diagnosed with this type of mutation each year, and more than 50% are NSCLC squamous cell carcinomas. This type of population is not sensitive to chemotherapy and PD-1/PD-L1.


In addition, the NRF2 activator corresponds to the up-regulation of NRF2 activity and activates the anti-inflammatory response. The indication is inflammatory diseases such as IBD. Companies that develop the KEAP1-NRF2 pathway also include Reata Pharmaceuticals and yTy Therapeutics, which are developing NRF2 activators, which are in the clinical stage.


2、STAT3

Another project targeting STAT3 cooperated with BMS. In March 2018, Vividion and BMS reached a research and development cooperation to develop small molecule drugs for the targets specified by BMS. The advance payment was US$95 million. The subsequent fees received will be determined by BMS exercise. Certainly.


The currently established STAT3 target is an oral STAT3 allosteric inhibitor, which binds to another pocket that is not the DNA binding domain, thereby inducing a conformational change that negatively affects the function of the DNA binding domain and preventing STAT3 from binding to DNA. . Indications are inflammatory diseases and tumors. Tvardi Therapeutics is also developing STAT3 inhibitors, which is in the clinical stage; Kymera Therapeutics and Roivant Sciences are developing STAT3 protein degradation, which is in the preclinical stage.


The currently approved therapies mainly target upstream activation signals, and STAT3 inhibitors theoretically have the potential for combined use.


3、WRN

Vividion reached a cooperation with Roche in April 2020. Vividion develops small molecule drugs based on a series of targets (Low twenties) selected by it. Roche paid a one-time prepayment of US$135 million in cash, and subsequent fees received will be determined by Roche's exercise of the rights. .


WRN is the first target selected in the collaboration (May 2021). The WRN inhibitor developed selectively inhibits the helicase activity of WRN in the MSI-H (microsatellite highly unstable) cell line.


Also developing targeting WRN are the WRN project of IDEAYA Biosciences and GSK, preclinical; the WRN project of Nimbus Therapeutics, preclinical; and the WRN inhibitor of Beactica Therapeutics, preclinical.


2020 and 2021 Q1 financial performance



Cash and cash equivalents: 333M (As of March 31, 2021)


Reprinted from: Weizhi U.S. Stocks Biomedicine https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/P_BqF6ZQiNk2-Qh9cWTivA

Vividion Therapeutics:靶向转录因子的小分子药物公司申请IPO上市

发布日期:2021-06-28 浏览次数:850

Vividion Therapeutics提交1亿美元初步招股书,IPO前持股>5%的机构如下:


在2月完成的C轮1.35亿美元融资中,Logos Capital和Boxer Capital共同领投,其他投资者包括软银、Avoro Capital,BlackRock,RA Capital,T. Rowe Price Associates, ,Surveyor Capital (a Citadel company), Woodline Partners LP, Acuta Capital和Driehaus Capital。现有投资者ARCH Venture,BVF,Casdin Capital, Mubadala Capital, Nextech Invest和Versant Ventures也参与此轮融资。


公司技术平台和管线

Vividion Therapeutics是一家专注精准治疗的生物医药公司,专注研发此前被认为不可成药的靶标。其专有化学蛋白组学(chemoproteomic)平台技术通过发现蛋白质表面未被发现的功能性口袋,用专有库中小分子与之结合。迄今为止,公司已经筛选了约12,500种蛋白质上75,000多个半胱氨酸残基,阐明了250个已验证靶标的800多个新结合口袋,研发多个共价结合小分子与80个靶标的超过100个独特结合口袋结合。



目前主要在研管线靶向两个关键转录因子,NRF2和STAT3,以及DNA氧化损伤修复基因WRN。转录因子的结构复杂无序且缺乏小分子结合口袋,传统上认为通过小分子配体靶向转录因子是不可成药的。Vividion的STAT3项目与BMS(百时美施贵宝)合作研发,WRN则与Roche(罗氏)合作研发。目前所有管线仍在临床前研究,预计在2022年提名第一个候选药物并向FDA提交IND。


1、化学蛋白组学(chemoproteomic)平台技术

该平台基于公司联合创始人Benjamin F. Cravatt, Phillip Baran和Jin-Quan Yu在Scripps Research Institute的研究建立。Dr. Cravatt的实验室使用基于质谱的蛋白质组分析(spectrometry-based proteome profiling),监测半胱氨酸反应小分子与数千种蛋白质特定部位的结合。Drs. Baran和Dr. Yu研发的化学方法使其能够探索三维化学和蛋白质空间,并以此构建了化学支架和半胱氨酸基团库。


Chemoproteomic筛选技术使用高分辨率质谱法和化学探针检测小分子和蛋白质之间的相互作用(无论功能等级如何),找到蛋白质中特定的半胱氨酸结合部位后,用库中的小分子测试结合效力。下图是测试的输出图,行(Target)是靶蛋白上半胱氨酸结合位点,列为化合物:



随着小分子库的扩大,疾病相关蛋白的可成药口袋的发现也随之增长:



这种测试方法可以让公司发现多种不同类型模式的化合物,包括变构激活/抑制剂,蛋白质稳定剂,PPI(蛋白质-蛋白质相互作用)抑制剂和蛋白质降解剂等。


2、管线




1、KEAP-NRF2

公司通过研发对NFR2具有抑制或激活作用的化合物,治疗不同疾病。在肿瘤中,由突变或治疗获得性的NRF2异常激活,可以是癌细胞的关键适应,以达到高度恶性和治疗耐药状态。


NRF2中的突变几乎都存在于两个区域,称为”DLG”和”ETGE”的序列亚基,这些区域的突变阻碍了KEAP1对NRF2的识别,阻止NRF2的蛋白酶体降解,NRF2水平上调。公司研发的NRF2抑制剂,重点集中在含NRF2“DLG”突变的鳞状癌症,指征为NRF2突变肿瘤,如NSCLC、ESCC和HNSCC。公司预估美国每年超过10000人诊断出该类突变,超过50%为NSCLC鳞癌,该类人群对化疗和PD-1/PD-L1反应不敏感。


此外NRF2激活剂对应的是NRF2活性上调,激活抗炎症反应,指征为炎症疾病如IBD等。研发KEAP1-NRF2通路的公司还包括Reata Pharmaceuticals和yTy Therapeutics,研发NRF2激活剂,处在临床阶段。


2、STAT3

另一靶向STAT3的项目则与BMS合作,2018年3月Vividion和BMS达成研发合作,为BMS指定的靶标研发小分子药物,预付款9500万美元,后续收到的费用将由BMS行权情况而定。


目前已确定的STAT3靶标,研发的是口服STAT3变构抑制剂,通过结合另一个不是DNA结合区域的口袋,从而诱导一种对DNA结合域功能产生负面影响的构象变化,阻止STAT3对DNA的结合。指征为炎症疾病和肿瘤。研发STAT3抑制剂的还有Tvardi Therapeutics,处在临床阶段;Kymera Therapeutics和Roivant Sciences研发STAT3蛋白质降解,处在临床前。


目前获批的疗法主要靶向上游激活信号,STAT3抑制剂理论上有联用的潜力。


3、WRN

Vividion在2020年4月与罗氏达成合作,Vividion根据其选定的一系列靶标(Low twenties)研发小分子药物,罗氏一次性预付1.35亿美元现金,后续收到的费用将由罗氏行权情况而定。


WRN是合作中第一个被选定的靶标(2021年5月),开发的WRN抑制剂在MSI-H(微卫星高度不稳定)细胞系中选择性抑制WRN的解旋酶活性。


研发靶向WRN的还有IDEAYA Biosciences和GSK合作的WRN项目,临床前;Nimbus Therapeutics的WRN项目,临床前;Beactica Therapeutics的WRN抑制剂,临床前。


2020年、2021年Q1财务表现



现金、现金等价物:333M (As of March 31, 2021)


转载自:蹊之美股生物医药 https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/P_BqF6ZQiNk2-Qh9cWTivA